Visual AIDS Visual AIDS Visual AIDS 15h Annual Postcards From the Edge, January 25-27, 2013 The Body
Visual AIDS
Visual AIDS
       


join the archive project | artist materials grants | archive member sites | archive newsletter

The Archive Project

Visual AIDS utilizes art to fight AIDS by provoking dialogue, supporting HIV+ artists, and preserving a legacy, because AIDS is not over.

Visual AIDS also assists artists with HIV/AIDS, while preserving a visual record of their work. Through The Archive Project, the largest registry of works by visual artists with HIV/AIDS, we offer professional services including: Artist Materials Grants, emergency grants, documentation of artwork, and exhibition opportunities. Membership in The Archive Project is free and open to all professional visual artists living with HIV/AIDS and the estates of artists who have died from AIDS.

The Archive Project is both a service to HIV+ artists and a public resource, to teach about AIDS art activism and the lasting importance of HIV-positive visual artists. The Archive Project began as a slide library, and is being converted into a digital database which eventually will have over 15,000 images. The Archive Project is open to curators, art historians, researchers, and students. If you are interested in viewing The Archive Project, please contact Visual AIDS to set up an appointment info@visualAIDS.org.

Join the Archive Project

If you are an artist living with HIV/AIDS and would like to join the Archive Project, please download the Artist Membership Forms here.

If you represent the estate of an artist who has died from AIDS, please download the Estate Forms here.

Return completed forms to Visual AIDS, along with a CD of digital images, including a checklist with title, size, year, and media for each piece. If you do not have documentation of your artwork, and live in the New York area, please contact us to make arrangements. Mail your membership forms and images to:
Visual AIDS
526 W. 26th St. # 510
New York, NY 10001

Artist Materials Grants

Once you have become a Visual AIDS artist member, you may apply for a Materials Grant. The Materials Grants is a program of Visual AIDS initiated to help HIV+ artists maintain their artistic practice by providing grants, of up to $300, in the form of gift certificates to art supply vendors. Materials Grants are available to Visual AIDS Archive Members ONLY. To be eligible you must have an active file in the Frank Moore Archive Project, including Membership Form, Artist Release Form, and artwork documentation. Archive Members are eligible for only one grant per 12-month cycle. The number of Materials Grants issued by Visual AIDS is subject to available funds. To be eligible you must:

  1. Be a current member of the Frank Moore Archive Project and have shown evidence that you are a working artist.
  2. Have not received a Materials Grant in the past 12 months.
  3. Agree to report on the use of the grant, submit receipts from supply purchases, and show works created with grant funds.
  4. Application deadlines are January 15th and June 1st of each year.

You can download the Materials Grant application forms here.

If you have any questions regarding Membership or Materials Grants, please contact us.

Archive Member Sites

Visual AIDS
David Abbott www.abbottart.com

Ali www.aliphoto.com

Rob Anderson www.rattlesnakeinamovingcar.org

www.robandersonstudio.com

Robert Roan Beard http://artdesignconsulting.com/fineart_watercolors.html

Barton Lidice Benes www.sag.se/utstallning/benes_barton/index.html

Kermit Berg www.kermitbergstudio.com

Rebecca Guberman Bloom www.guberman-bloom.com

Freddy Borges www.borgesfinearts.com

George Box www.gallerynow.com/box

Joe Brainard www.tibordenagy.com/artists/brainard.html

Steven Dwayne Bryk http://web.me.com/cybeartist

Bob Burnside www.bobburnside.com

Rene Capone www.renecapone.com

Luis Carle www.luiscarle.com/

Joel W. Carlson www.joelwcarlson.com

Gregg Cassin http://web.mac.com/greggcassinart/iWeb/Site/Welcome.html

Tseng Kwong Chi www.tsengkwongchi.com

Vincent Cianni www.vincentcianni.com

Jose L. Cortes www.jlcortes.com

David Cannon Dashiell http://davidcannondashiell.com/wordpress/home

Joe De Hoyos www.lolbrands.com/art

Jimmy DeSana www.artretran.com/newsite/ARTPRESS/101/101.html

John Dugdale www.clampart.com/artists/dugdale/dugdale.htm

www.robertkleingallery.com/gallery/dugdale

durkArt www.durkart.com

Tony Feher www.damelioterras.com/artists_art.asp?art_code=58

Martin Freeman &
Joel Hoyer
www.butchboystudios.com

Jerry Frost www.jerryfrost.com

Sean Paul Gallegos www.seanpaulgallegos.com

Michael Golden www.michaelgoldenstudio.com

Felix Gonzalez-Torres www.andrearosengallery.com/index.asp?flash=no

Sunil Gupta http://sunilgupta.net/index.html

Keith Haring www.haring.com

Michael Harwood www.michaelharwoodphoto.com

Chet Holcomb www.chetholcombstudio.us

Jerry Hooten www.hootenart.com

Tim O. Hughes www.freewebs.com/timo4art/

River Huston www.riverhustonartwork.com

Derek Jackson www.derekjackson.net

Holly Johnson www.hollyjohnson.com

Frank Jump www.frankjump.com

John Keasler www.jkeasler.com

Inked Kenny www.inkedkenny.com

David King www.davidkingcollage.com

Ken Kostovny www.geocities.com/soho/studios/6694/

FJ Kottmann www.paranormal.de/channeledpaintings

John S. Lathram III www.johnlathram.com

Eric Lerner www.voiceofthoth.com/

Edward Lightner www.edlightner.com

Elliott Linwood http://val662.home.comcast.net

Michael Lownie www.mlownie.com

Charles Lum www.artic.edu/~clum

Peter Madero III www.petermadero.com

Neil Marshall www.neilmarshall.com

Joyce McDonald www.jm-ministries.com

Andrew McPhail www.bedhair.ca/

Greg Mitchell http://mantropolis-studios.squarespace.com

Michael Mitchell http://home.nyc.rr.com/rcook/

Bruce Monroe www.brucebmonroe.com

Frank Moore www.speronewestwater.com/cgi-bin/iowa/artists/record.html?record=13

Michael Patrick Moore http://home.comcast.net/~shikaman/

Ricardo Morin www.ricardomorin.com/

Mark Morrisroe www.jca-online.com/m3.html

Ian Moyer www.IanMoyer.com

Chuck Nanney www.debsandco.com/flash.php

David Nelson www.debsandco.com/flash.php

John Painter www.JohnPainterFineArt.com

Marc Pelletier www.marcjerome.com/

Daniel Perry www.artbeacon.com/UrbanArt

Ronnie Queenan www.thequeenancollection.com

James Reich www.JimReich.com

Richard Renaldi www.renaldi.com

Hunter Reynolds www.hunterwreynolds.com

Eric Rhein www.ericrhein.com

Daniel H. Roberts www.danielhroberts.com

Nevin Robinson www.nevinphotography.com

James Romberger www.theproposition.com/jamesromberger.html

Carmine Santaniello http://carminesantaniellofineart.blogspot.com/

Adrienne Seed www.hivine.com

Leith Semmens www.leithsemmens.com.au

Richard Sawdon Smith www.richardsawdonsmith.com

Clifford Smith www.cliffsmithart.com

JD Talasek www.talasek.com

Tim Tate www.timtateglass.com

Joey Terrill www.joeyterrillartist.com

Paul Thek www.alexanderandbonin.com/artists/thek/thek.html

Keith Theriot www.keiththeriot.com

Hector Toscano www.hectortoscano-hiv.blogspot.com

George Towne www.georgetowneart.com

Elton Tucker www.wsacny.org/tucker

Peter Urban www.peterurban.com

Marguerite Van Cook www.theproposition.com/margueritevancook.html

Jeff VanDyke www.jeffvandyke.massagetherapy.com/index.html

Jorge Veras www.fotolog.net/veras

Joel Waters www.wateres.com

Patrick Webb www.patrick-webb.com/

Kevin Wesley www.kevinwesley.com

Kurt Weston www.kurtweston.com/

Albert Winn www.albertjwinn.com

David Wojnarowicz www.ppowgallery.com/artists/DavidWojnarowicz/index.html

Martin Wong www.ppowgallery.com/artists/MartinWong/index.html

Peter Wyman www.peterwyman.com

www.PeteWyman.com

Yolanda www.yolanda.net

Laurence Young www.laurenceyoung.com

Terry Young www.terryyoung.org

Jeff Zimmer www.jeffxzimmer.com

Note: If you are a Visual AIDS Archive member and have a homepage, please send your URL to info@visualAIDS.org and we'll link up!

> top

 

Facebook | Twitter | about visual aids | contact | mailing list | internships/volunteers | copyright | back to the body