Print this page    •   Back to Web version of article

Press Release
AIDS Watch at Home 2010: Make Congress Listen Right in Your Own Backyard

May 6, 2010

Hundreds of AIDS advocates recently gathered in Washington, D.C. as part of AIDS Watch 2010 to tell members of Congress about the urgent need to expand comprehensive and compassionate HIV/AIDS prevention and care services, following through on health care reform implementation, and delivering on promises for a National HIV/AIDS Strategy.

Now it's YOUR turn. Over the next few weeks, hundreds more AIDS advocates across the country will meet with their members of congress right in their home state as part of AIDS Watch at Home 2010.

Delivering these important messages once won't do the job. Our members of Congress need to hear it over and over again.

Here's How You Can Help:

Sign up for one of three webinars in May that will tell you everything you need to know about setting up a meeting with your member of Congress, telling your story and delivering policy asks.

AIDS Watch at Home 2010 Webinar Dates:

May 12 at 1 p.m. ET; 12 p.m. CT; 11 a.m. MT; 10 a.m. PT
May 19 at 1 p.m. ET; 12 p.m. CT; 11 a.m. MT; 10 a.m. PT
May 26 at 1 p.m. ET; 12 p.m. CT; 11 a.m. MT; 10 a.m. PT

To RSVP for one of these sessions, email your name and preferred date to Jim Merrell at jmerrell@aidschicago.org.

Can't make a webinar? Check out the AIDS Watch webpage, which has all of the information you need to set up a meeting in your neck of the woods including factsheets, presentations, and videos of advocates in action!

To hone your AIDS advocacy skills, sign up for free email updates on the craft of AIDS advocacy from DOSE OF CHANGE. Go to www.aidsconnect.net/dose to learn more.




This article was provided by National Minority AIDS Council. You can find this article online by typing this address into your Web browser:
http://www.thebody.com/content/art56568.html

General Disclaimer: TheBody.com is designed for educational purposes only and is not engaged in rendering medical advice or professional services. The information provided through TheBody.com should not be used for diagnosing or treating a health problem or a disease. It is not a substitute for professional care. If you have or suspect you may have a health problem, consult your health care provider.