Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014
  
  • Email Email
  • Comments Comments
  •  (1)
  • Printable Single-Page Print-Friendly
  • Glossary Glossary

Press Release

AIDS Watch at Home 2010: Make Congress Listen Right in Your Own Backyard

May 6, 2010

Hundreds of AIDS advocates recently gathered in Washington, D.C. as part of AIDS Watch 2010 to tell members of Congress about the urgent need to expand comprehensive and compassionate HIV/AIDS prevention and care services, following through on health care reform implementation, and delivering on promises for a National HIV/AIDS Strategy.

Now it's YOUR turn. Over the next few weeks, hundreds more AIDS advocates across the country will meet with their members of congress right in their home state as part of AIDS Watch at Home 2010.

Delivering these important messages once won't do the job. Our members of Congress need to hear it over and over again.

Advertisement
Here's How You Can Help:

Sign up for one of three webinars in May that will tell you everything you need to know about setting up a meeting with your member of Congress, telling your story and delivering policy asks.

AIDS Watch at Home 2010 Webinar Dates:

May 12 at 1 p.m. ET; 12 p.m. CT; 11 a.m. MT; 10 a.m. PT
May 19 at 1 p.m. ET; 12 p.m. CT; 11 a.m. MT; 10 a.m. PT
May 26 at 1 p.m. ET; 12 p.m. CT; 11 a.m. MT; 10 a.m. PT

To RSVP for one of these sessions, email your name and preferred date to Jim Merrell at jmerrell@aidschicago.org.

Can't make a webinar? Check out the AIDS Watch webpage, which has all of the information you need to set up a meeting in your neck of the woods including factsheets, presentations, and videos of advocates in action!

To hone your AIDS advocacy skills, sign up for free email updates on the craft of AIDS advocacy from DOSE OF CHANGE. Go to www.aidsconnect.net/dose to learn more.



  
  • Email Email
  • Comments Comments
  •  (1)
  • Printable Single-Page Print-Friendly
  • Glossary Glossary

This article was provided by National Minority AIDS Council. Visit NMAC's website to find out more about their activities, publications and services.
 
See Also
More Calls to Action

 

Add Your Comment:
(Please note: Your name and comment will be public, and may even show up in
Internet search results. Be careful when providing personal information! Before
adding your comment, please read TheBody.com's Comment Policy.)

Your Name:


Your Location:

(ex: San Francisco, CA)

Your Comment:

Characters remaining:

Tools
 

Advertisement