The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App 
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
  • Email Email
  • Printable Single-Page Print-Friendly
  • Glossary Glossary

Local Academy Updates

Chapters Elect New Board Members

Fall 2001

Though the Academy is a national organization, we have a number of state and regional chapters, each organized by local physicians. Below is a listing of recent chapter activities.

Florida Chapter

In September, the chapter elected four additional board members: Jerry Brand, M.D., M.P.H.; Edwin DeJesus, M.D., F.A.C.P.; Rosa Guzman, M.D., F.A.C.P.; and Susan Zimmer, D.O.. These new board members join current board members.

The Florida chapter, led by Chapter President Dan Warner, M.D., has applied for recognition by the Florida Medical Association as a subspecialty society. The next annual chapter meeting is planned for Orlando at the AETC meeting on March 9, 2002. The chapter continues to organize and plan for future activities with monthly board teleconferences.

Mountain Plains Regional Chapter

This new chapter is in the process of being organized and is establishing a base from which to elect a board. The region will include Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. The chapter representative is Donna Sweet, M.D.

New England Regional Chapter

The New England Regional Chapter is a newly organized Academy chapter. Elections were held in September 2001, and the first board meeting has been scheduled to establish chapter goals and objectives.

The New England Regional Chapter Board members are President Al Fisher, M.D.; Kenneth Abriola, M.D.; John Appelbaum, M.D.; Steve Boswell, M.D.; Calvin Cohen, M.D.; Christopher Grace, M.D.; Bryan Marsh, M.D.; Kenneth Mayer, M.D.; Paul Sax, M.D.; and Robert Smith, M.D.

Nevada Chapter

In October the Nevada chapter had its annual meeting and elected the following officers: Jerry Cade, M.D., President; Steve Zell, M.D., Vice President; Brian Lipman, M.D., Secretary; Alka Rebentish, M.D., Treasurer; Dennis Fuller, M.D., At-Large; Maurice Gregory, M.D., At-Large; and Bob Mull, M.D., At-Large.

Pennsylvania Chapter

Board elections were held June 2001. The board has scheduled its first meeting to establish chapter goals and objectives.

Pennsylvania Chapter board members are President Chris Woodward, D.O.; James Dean, M.D.; Margaret Hoffman-Terry, M.D.; Jeffrey Kichner, M.D.; and Ellen Tadaldi, M.D.


Back to The Nexus Fall 2001 contents page.

  • Email Email
  • Printable Single-Page Print-Friendly
  • Glossary Glossary

This article was provided by American Academy of HIV Medicine. It is a part of the publication The Nexus. Visit AAHIVM's website to find out more about their activities and publications.