Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App 
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

News

Webinar, Jan. 11: Progress Toward HIV Justice -- Community Update on Michael L. Johnson's Case

January 6, 2017


Wednesday, Jan. 11
2:30 - 3:30 p.m. ET || 1:30 - 2:30 p.m. CT || 12:30 - 1:30 p.m. MT || 11:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. PT

Register today!

Through strong advocacy and legal support, on Dec. 20, 2016, the appellate court reversed Michael L. Johnson's conviction and remanded for a new trial. Michael was previously incarcerated and serving a 30-year concurrent sentence under Missouri's HIV criminalization law.

This breakthrough presents a number of new opportunities for action in his liberation and advocates are asking questions: What does it all mean? Where do we go from here? How can we continue to fight for Michael? 

Join HIV PJA on Jan. 11 at 2:30 p.m. ET for a community webinar to provide crucial updates and answer these important questions on Michael's case. Mayo Schreiber of Center for HIV Law and Policy will breakdown the recent decision on Michael's appeal, and scope-out the landscape for advocates and the legal community to consider and collaborate. This webinar is part of a series of broadcasts to continue to provide information on Michael's case and help coordinate efforts..

Panelists include:

  • Mayo Schreiber, Deputy Director, Center for HIV Law and Policy
  • Moderator: Charles Stephens, Executive Director, Counter Narrative Project

Register now!


Related Stories

Court Rules Michael Johnson HIV Criminalization Conviction Was 'Trial-by-Ambush'
Facts and Feelings as Michael Johnson Serves 30-Year HIV Criminalization Sentence
Views on the Trial and Conviction of Michael Johnson, a Black Life That Matters
More on HIV Transmission Cases


This article was provided by HIV Prevention Justice Alliance. Visit HIV Prevention Justice Alliance's website to find out more about their activities and publications.
 

No comments have been made.
 

Add Your Comment:
(Please note: Your name and comment will be public, and may even show up in
Internet search results. Be careful when providing personal information! Before
adding your comment, please read TheBody.com's Comment Policy.)

Your Name:


Your Location:

(ex: San Francisco, CA)

Your Comment:

Characters remaining:

Advertisement

The content on this page is free of advertiser influence and was produced by our editorial team. See our advertising policy.