Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App 
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Press Release

July 11 Webinar: The Stigma of HIV Prevention

June 28, 2016

Monday, July 11
1:30 - 3 p.m. ET | 12:30 - 2 p.m. CT | 11:30 a.m. - 1 p.m. MT | 10:30 a.m. - 12 p.m. PT

Register Today!

TAG and HIV PJA logos


The consequences of stigma among people living with and vulnerable to HIV infection are significant and far-reaching. Stigma is frequently cited as a significant barrier to successful pre-exposure prophylaxis (PrEP) awareness, access and utilization. Despite having been approved in the U.S. since 2012, only an estimated 4% of the 1.2 million adults with indications for PrEP have used it, even briefly.

Stigma, however, is a nebulous concept that is often inadequately explained in the context of HIV care and prevention. What do we mean when we say that stigma impacts our efforts to scale up PrEP and other prevention options? What are the specific individual behaviors, cultural norms, organizational practices and government policies that contribute most to HIV prevention stigma?

Join Treatment Action Group and the HIV Prevention Justice Alliance for a webinar on July 11, 1:30 - 3 p.m. ET, that will explore different forms of stigma that continue to pose a significant barrier to accessing comprehensive HIV prevention services, including sexual and drug-using stigmas, racism, homophobia, and transphobia. We will also look at how we might better include assessments of stigma within HIV prevention research, discuss how prevention-related stigma is different from the stigma of living with the virus, and consider advocacy options for combatting stigmas related to HIV prevention.

Panelists include:

  • Jeremiah Johnson, HIV Prevention Research and Policy Coordinator, Treatment Action Group
  • Sarit A. Golub, Professor, Hunter College and the Graduate Center of City University of New York
  • Matthew Rose, Policy Associate, National Minority AIDS Council


Related Stories

Webinar: The Stigma of HIV Prevention
#WhatWomenWant Website Launch
Watch and Take Action to Urge CDC HIV Prevention Funding for the U.S. South!
More Calls to Action


This article was provided by HIV Prevention Justice Alliance. Visit HIV Prevention Justice Alliance's website to find out more about their activities and publications.
 

No comments have been made.
 

Add Your Comment:
(Please note: Your name and comment will be public, and may even show up in
Internet search results. Be careful when providing personal information! Before
adding your comment, please read TheBody.com's Comment Policy.)

Your Name:


Your Location:

(ex: San Francisco, CA)

Your Comment:

Characters remaining:

Advertisement

The content on this page is free of advertiser influence and was produced by our editorial team. See our advertising policy.