Print this page    •   Back to Web version of article

Risky Women: Disrupting Simple Notions of Women's HIV Risk

December 2, 2013

Monday, December 9, 2013: 11:00 AM – 12:30 PM EST

To RSVP & register for this webinar, please click here!

In 2012, the FDA approved Truvada for PrEP use among adult women and men who are "at risk" of HIV infection in the U.S. But exactly which women are at risk, how such risk is defined and understood, and whether or not women see themselves in this way is not entirely clear. Speakers in this webinar will present what is known from social and behavioral science and community experience about the definitions and perceptions of HIV risk among women that are relevant to their potential PrEP use. The webinar is co-sponsored by SisterLove, Inc., AVAC, HIV Prevention Justice Alliance, National Women's Health Network and the Well Project.

Click to Register Now!

Featuring:

Judith Auerbach, PhD, Adjunct Professor, Center for AIDS Prevention Studies, University of California, San Francisco; and Consultant to AIDS United and San Francisco AIDS Foundation Introduction

Rivet Amico, PhD, Research Scientist, Center for Health Intervention and Prevention, University of Colorado

JoAnne Keatley, MSW, Director, Center of Excellence for Transgender Health, University of California, San Francisco

Moderator:

Vignetta Charles, PhD, Senior Vice President, AIDS United

When: Monday, December 9, 2013 at 8:00 AM - 9:30 AM PST / 9:00 AM - 10:30 AM MST / 10:00 AM - 11:30 AM CST / 11:00 AM – 12:30 PM EST

To Register, Click Here




This article was provided by HIV Prevention Justice Alliance. You can find this article online by typing this address into your Web browser:
http://www.thebody.com/content/73349/risky-women-disrupting-simple-notions-of-womens-hi.html

General Disclaimer: TheBody.com is designed for educational purposes only and is not engaged in rendering medical advice or professional services. The information provided through TheBody.com should not be used for diagnosing or treating a health problem or a disease. It is not a substitute for professional care. If you have or suspect you may have a health problem, consult your health care provider.