Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
HIV/AIDS Resource Center for Women
Michelle Lopez Alora Gale Precious Jackson Nina Martinez Gracia Violeta Ross Quiroga Loreen Willenberg  
Michelle Alora Precious Nina Gracia Loreen  

Risky Women: Disrupting Simple Notions of Women's HIV Risk

December 2, 2013

Monday, December 9, 2013: 11:00 AM – 12:30 PM EST

To RSVP & register for this webinar, please click here!

In 2012, the FDA approved Truvada for PrEP use among adult women and men who are "at risk" of HIV infection in the U.S. But exactly which women are at risk, how such risk is defined and understood, and whether or not women see themselves in this way is not entirely clear. Speakers in this webinar will present what is known from social and behavioral science and community experience about the definitions and perceptions of HIV risk among women that are relevant to their potential PrEP use. The webinar is co-sponsored by SisterLove, Inc., AVAC, HIV Prevention Justice Alliance, National Women's Health Network and the Well Project.

Click to Register Now!

Featuring:

Judith Auerbach, PhD, Adjunct Professor, Center for AIDS Prevention Studies, University of California, San Francisco; and Consultant to AIDS United and San Francisco AIDS Foundation Introduction

Rivet Amico, PhD, Research Scientist, Center for Health Intervention and Prevention, University of Colorado

JoAnne Keatley, MSW, Director, Center of Excellence for Transgender Health, University of California, San Francisco

Moderator:

Vignetta Charles, PhD, Senior Vice President, AIDS United

When: Monday, December 9, 2013 at 8:00 AM - 9:30 AM PST / 9:00 AM - 10:30 AM MST / 10:00 AM - 11:30 AM CST / 11:00 AM – 12:30 PM EST

To Register, Click Here


Related Stories

How to Make PrEP Work for Women in the U.S.?
Who's Looking Into PrEP for Women?
More Calls to Action


This article was provided by HIV Prevention Justice Alliance. Visit HIV Prevention Justice Alliance's website to find out more about their activities and publications.
 

No comments have been made.
 

Add Your Comment:
(Please note: Your name and comment will be public, and may even show up in
Internet search results. Be careful when providing personal information! Before
adding your comment, please read TheBody.com's Comment Policy.)

Your Name:


Your Location:

(ex: San Francisco, CA)

Your Comment:

Characters remaining:



Copyright © 2007-2014 Remedy Health Media, LLC. All rights reserved.
Advertisement
See Also
Newly Diagnosed? Words of Encouragement from HIV-Positive Women
What Did You Expect While You Were Expecting?
HIV Tools You Can Use