Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
  Breaking News: FDA Approves Triumeq, New Once-Daily Combination Pill
  
  • Email Email
  • Comments Comments
  • Printable Single-Page Print-Friendly
  • Glossary Glossary

June 15: HIV PJA Webinar -- Glass Half Full: Resilience Among Gay Men as an Emerging HIV Prevention Justice Strategy

May 31, 2011

Join us for an HIV PJA Strategy Webinar:

Wednesday June 15 @ 3:30 p.m. ET/ 2:30 p.m. CT/ 1:30 p.m. MT/ 12:30 p.m. PT

Glass Half Full: Resilience Among Gay Men as an Emerging HIV Prevention Justice Strategy

Plus:

  • IOM Report Highlights Gaps in LGBT Health Research
  • CDC's New Sexual Health Framework -- What Does It Mean?

Click here to register and receive information on how to join the call.


Background

Resilience Among Gay Men: An emerging research focus has been looking at the role resilience plays in helping gay men stay healthy.  This line of thinking turns conventional HIV prevention on its head asking "If most gay men are HIV negative, what are they doing to stay that way and what can we learn from those insights?"

Panelists: Amy Herrick, University of Pittsburgh; Steven Wakefield, HIV Vaccine Trials Network.

IOM Report: The Institutes of Medicine, the non-profit body that advises the public on medical matters, recently released a report highlighting the glaring gaps in knowledge about LGBTQ health.  We'll discuss what's in the report and its implications for shaping future research.

CDC Sexual Health Framework: In response to the staggering disparities evident in new HIV infections, the CDC has called for a re-alignment of its activities around a new 'sexual health framework.'  We'll find out just what this entails and what its implications are for HIV prevention justice.

Click here to register and receive information on how to join the call.



  
  • Email Email
  • Comments Comments
  • Printable Single-Page Print-Friendly
  • Glossary Glossary

This article was provided by HIV Prevention Justice Alliance. Visit HIV Prevention Justice Alliance's website to find out more about their activities and publications.
 
See Also
Fact Sheet: HIV/AIDS and Young Men Who Have Sex With Men
Quiz: Are You at Risk for HIV?
10 Common Fears About HIV Transmission
More on HIV Prevention Issues for Gay Men

No comments have been made.
 

Add Your Comment:
(Please note: Your name and comment will be public, and may even show up in
Internet search results. Be careful when providing personal information! Before
adding your comment, please read TheBody.com's Comment Policy.)

Your Name:


Your Location:

(ex: San Francisco, CA)

Your Comment:

Characters remaining:

Tools
 

Advertisement