Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

HIV Life >> Women

Rosa
Unregistered

What are the words to describe what has happened
      09/26/01 08:00 PM

Dear Anybody:

My name is Rosa. I am 41 years old, black, fat, and depressed. It is the fact that I am depressed which prompts me to ask for the words which describes what has happened to me?

Before you answer, let me give you a little history. Five years ago I was a second year medical student. The fact that I weighed over 300 pounds made it easy for the University's staff and faculty to be cruel to me. And they were!!! But, their cruelty was nothing new. I did my undergraduate work at the same University and received dual degrees in both Sociology and Biology.

The difference was my home situation. My original home burned down and myself along with my two sons had to move. During semester break I purchased a home in one of Detroit's Historic Districts. The house had five bathrooms which I wanted all redecorated. I hired a Master Plumber to do the work.

It turns out that this "Master" was not a master plumber -- he was a journeyman and worst his employees were untrained to the point of not being able to read simple plumbing plans. They wrecked my house. They butchered my floor joists so badly the house was threatened to fall down. But the worst situation was the lack of fresh water. The plumbers did not properly vent the pipes and in addition the sewer was backing up into my basement.

While I was doing my undergrad work, I used my home as a place to rejuvenate after a hard particularly hard day. A hard day could be defined as being sexually harassed by a professor and laughed at by the authorities, or being threatened to be dismissed from the University for plagerism because, "A person like me could not write like that."