The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

HIV Life >> Women

Anonymous
Unregistered

Re: Support for professional women diagnosed with HIV
      05/30/05 12:19 AM

I can relate perfectly to what you are going through. I was diagonosed almost 10 years ago. For a while prior to my diagonosis I suspected being positive for I had been in a relationship with someone whom indulged in IV drug use and had tested positive. Like you, I was a professional and was terrified that my employer would find out about my illness. At the time of my diagnosis (1996) we did not have the avialability of medications we have today and I thought for sure I was going to die. So, I quit my job and moved to another state. For several years I dealt with poor health and trouble adhering to medications because of side effects.