Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

HIV Life >> I Just Tested Positive

Surgeon

Reged: 03/23/13
Just Found out I'm Positive
      03/23/13 10:54 PM

Hi,

I just received confirmation yesterday by western blot that I am in fact HIV positive. I wanted to share my situation to see if anyone else has been or experienced what I'm now facing. Just to give a little background.

I am a 43 year old professional guy. After 10 years of being in a very high level management position, I finally made the decision to leave my company. I had planned on taking some time off and exploring the possibility of moving to SW Florida where I have traveled frequently and have family living there. I have even gone as far as putting my house on the market. I typically make it a point to get tested each September, but this year let it slide as work pre-occupied most of my time. As I'm sitting on the sofa one night, I see a commercial for Oraquick, the HIV in home test. I run down to Wal- Mart the next day, buy the test, and after working up the courage I take the test. I was shocked to see a faint line where no line should have been. I couldn't believe it so I ditched the test, and go out to buy another. The next morning, I take the test and sure enough, once again, there is this faint line. I make an appointment to go to a clinic that afternoon where they performed a rapid test. I tested positive.