Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

HIV Life >> I Just Tested Positive

thespoonybard

Reged: 02/16/10
Loc: Kansas
Just Diagnosed With a CD4 Count of 5
      02/16/10 06:00 PM

In October '09, I became sick. I was stubborn and didn't start seeing a doctor until December. The doctor at the Student Health Center tried treating the multiple infections he found. I was also severely anemic. Since I am a veteran, he recommended that I seek out care at the VA hospital because all he could do was prescribe antibiotics. He brought up HIV, and even offered a test the last time I saw him in early January. I told him the VA would run the tests anyway.

Mid-January I had my appointment at the VA. A week later they called me in to admit me to ICU. On January 25th, 2009 I was diagnosed as HIV positive and classified an AIDS patient. They told me my CD4 count was 5.

I was floored. It felt like my mind was trying to escape from my body to run away from this. Even worse, I had no idea how my wife would react. When I asked the doctor to step out so I could tell her, I just said, "You need to get tested." She withdrew a little, tensed up, teared up. And I lost it. I begged her to forgive me for killing us both and for bringing this into our lives (I am ashamed to admit it, but I step out on her several times in 2007. She found out but we got through it). I begged her not to leave me. And she said she wouldnít. She stayed strong for me.