The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

HIV Life >> Living With HIV

torre

Reged: 06/07/10
Loc: selibe phikwe botswana
can't seem to accept my status.cry for help.
      06/07/10 08:33 PM

im 29 yrs old.living in a small mining town in botswana.i have 3 kids 8,7
just don't give up on me yet please.
i tested positive 12 yrs ago after a relative raped me at the age of 17. and i couldn't tell anybody about it caz he threatened to kill me if i told anybody about what happened.i first tested negative a week after the rape and then 6 months later i was positive.i had nobody ad the first thing that wnt into my head was that i was gonna die.i went into self destructive mode.i drank alcohol and smoked weed.i was living life to the fullest.i was an a student before them but when the coming year came i didn't care much about school and just wanted to enjoy life as i thought i was dying.this went on until we got a visit at my senior school of this group of hiv positive people who wad gone public about their status.i got their numbers and privately called them they helped me talk and walk on my status but never asked me how i got infected at such a young age.i dealled with my status but i never allowed anybody near me for or had any friends.i wanted to keep my secrect secret and was always the tough one among my peers.i had relationships that did,t last for more than 3 months.this went on till i fell i love with the love of my life.i thought he was the one.the relationship went on for a year and i was always insecure about us and drove him to the edge most of the time.i was scared if he found out he will leave me.on the 17 of april 2001 i went back for another hiv test with the hope that i will be negative but it still cam back positive and this time i had the courage to tell my boyfriend about my satus he tried