Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
  Breaking News: FDA Approves Triumeq, New Once-Daily Combination Pill

HIV Life >> African Americans

kicker

Reged: 10/25/10
Loc: GA, USA
Re: is poz for homosexuals?
      06/02/11 04:29 PM

I worked as a residential manager in a mental health facility a few years ago. (Loved the job, unfortunately they went under it was privately owned.) Please forgive the vagueness as well, but confidentiality and all.

This place was pretty much half way between a permanent psych ward and being out on your own. The clients there went either to a long term facility or they got better and went out on their own (sort of). It was set up like a highrise for the elderly, where there was someone on 24/7 but the clients had their own apartments and we for the most part free to come and go as they pleased. There was of course a curfew and they had to check out and in, their medications were handled by staff, etc.

Anyway there was a client, we will call this client PAT. Pat, refused to accept responsibility for the current situation that they found themselves in. Pat was an alcoholic and avid drug user, and had a mental health background that would make most people shutter. (Not the worst I ever seen, but close). Anyway Pat had an ankle bracelet that prevented any treks further than 500 feet from the building or risk going straight to jail.