Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

HIV Life >> Living With HIV

Pages: 1
lilfshrmn

Reged: 03/07/13
Loc: SE US
Ups and downs
      #275660 - 03/12/14 11:19 AM

18 months into treatment which started at very high viral load and dangerous CD4 levels. While I am much better than I was when diagnosed, I still have frequent "down days". Either chronic fatigue, rapid onset of exhaustion or GI issues take their toll on me physically, emotionally, and spiritually. In spite of the persona I show others I am frequently called out that I look "rough". I adhere to treatment and I try not to whine about my condition. I apparently cannot hide the effects of the infection or its treatment. I know I am still a newbie to HIV treatment but I wonder, does it get better or do we just suck it up and get used to it.

Post Extras: Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
anotherday

Reged: 05/15/13
Loc: Alberta, Canada
Re: Ups and downs new
      #275662 - 03/12/14 09:13 PM

I hear ya lilfshrmn ... I just past my 1 year mark diagnosis and in two weeks my 1 year mark on Atripla and I agree it takes it's toll. I have a very physically demanding job in a warehouse by day and it takes me about 2 hours every morning just to get the body wound up to start work and then evening is just resting ... alot!

Old age maybe, no more self medicating with alcohol possibly ... but following the med program set out by my medical team and as much exercise and healthy eating and living as I can muster up ... that's all I can do!

I don't look tired or run down but walking around the house in the evning with a cane and the occassional limping around at work ... people ask if I have injuries (luckily I have that too, a bad hip from a car accident a decade ago) ... it all catches up!