Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

HIV Transmission and Education >> Am I Infected?

Pages: 1
justagirl72
Fanatic

Reged: 04/28/11
needle stick pep meds
      #255434 - 04/28/11 02:47 PM

Hi, I'm a new nurse (1yr)..on March 17th (not so lucky) I was stuck on my left index finger by an insulin needle while injecting a known HIV+ /HCV drug user pt unknown CD4 or load ct. although he seemed very wasted. I avoided using his abdomen because of a surgery and didnt want to cause him anymore pain so I chose his arm (bad choice) it went through his skin and into me. I was wearing gloves immeadiately washed my hands no visible blood on either needle or or skin(i squeezed my finger to produce blood) went down to ED and was started on pep within 4hrs..my 2nd dose was a little late but i got through 28days! ..my questions are..1 i was switch off my original meds one week post exsposure to a better regime 3 pills once a day as opposed to 13pills a day. now what do I do with my left over pills from my first set of perscription? I hate the idea of leaving them when i know the pills are exspensive and someone who is infected could use them? my 2nd question is being switch increase my chance of seroconversion? 3rd I take my first test next week im am scared and i have a year of testing a head of me : ( do i really have to wait the full year b4 anyone can say im neg for sure? I did expirence some symptoms while on the pep..no fever but night sweats and sore throught but i can say i have been exsposed to tons of colds/flus at work..so i tried not to make myself to crazy!(not working) also I have been a single parent for a long time the thought of being alone forever is depressing..plus telling my family when we have already lost my sister to AIDS 17yrs ago would kill my mom so I havent told her or the