The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

HIV Life >> Women

Pages: 1
Anonymous
Unregistered

How do I tell my family I'm HIV Positive?
      #67646 - 07/16/03 03:11 AM

I am 42 year old single mother living on Miami Beach. I have been hiding my HIV status for 4 1/2 years now (my own daughter doesn't even know). I left New York because the word got out and I am very careful with my all of my partners but I am tired of living with this secret. What is the best way to tell my family? My mother, ex-husband and daughter will just die over this. Please give me some advice.

Post Extras: Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Jackie_Blue
Legend

Reged: 10/26/00
Re: How do I tell my family I'm HIV Positive? new
      #67648 - 07/16/03 05:32 AM

There is no easy way. I told my brother first. He was the easiest. He came with me when I told my mom. We told the kids when they each reach about 10. I didn't tell my ex-husband for years. That was a mistake. My daughter told him. I picked up the telephone and with no warning I hear him as "Do you have AIDS?" He was concerned for the kids safety which I understood. I had my doctor talk with him and assure him the kids were quite safe. Even that disclosure went way much better than I thought it would, which is why I hadn't told him.

I guess we all have to get to a point where we can say 'I'm HIV+ accept me as I am, or don't. It doesn't matter.' You don't say how old your daughter is, but she might be the best one to tell first if she's at an age to be told.

Good Luck

I was lucky. For me, almost everyone that I told has been very supportative. Do you have a friend that knows. It can help to have someone with you for moral support.

Anonymous
Unregistered

#67688 - 07/16/03 08:06 PM