Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

HIV Life >> Women

Pages: 1
Anonymous
Unregistered

Worried about the future of women
      #6182 - 06/25/00 11:46 AM

I am really concerned about the future of women w/ this illness. It used to be that only homosexual males or drug users got this virus. Now women are the highest growing number of infected cases. I think that more efforts need to be made on educating women/ teenaged girls on how to protect themselfs from this virus. I myself never thought I could be at risk, after all I am a clean heterosexual female. I graduated from college, have a good job, have a really nice apartment,a nice auto, cloths, clean friends, money, everything a stereotypical "Good Girl" would have... But all it takes is one exposure to an infected male. I haven't tested positive yet, I have had all the symptoms but have tested neg and am on my 5th mo. What ever I have, it is a funky virus that I caught and I am almost positive that it was from my last sexual experience with a guy that I though was clean. I tested for other STD's, all negative.. I know I don't have the flu, not mono, not another STD, unless they don't have a name for it yet.. The thing is that all the time that I spent being picky about who I slept with, all the time I spent prtecting myself could be washed down the drian, and I could catch HIV from someone else's careless sexual activies.. This is the same for all women... Please start to spread the word to other women, we need to take care of ourselfs. After all, WE ARE AT THE GREATEST RISK FOR HIV AND WE ARE THE ONES THAT LEAST EXPECT IT.

Post Extras: Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Anonymous
Unregistered

Re: Worried about the future of women new
      #6280 - 06/27/00 07:59 PM

Welcome to the real world sweetie.. Even clean good girls have sex. Good luck on continuing to test negative.

Anonymous
Unregistered

#6294 - 06/28/00 04:57 AM