Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

HIV Life >> Women

Pages: 1
LoisPrice

Reged: 03/23/12
An HIV+ SENIOR
      #261971 - 03/23/12 10:26 PM

Hello reader - I have never done this before - posted I mean. I have been living with HIV for nearly 14 years without acknowledging to anyone but my doctor and my daughter that I am infected. But at the age of 62, in otherwise perfect health, I realize that perhaps I can bring encouragement to other women who are living with the disease in silence and fear. Since my diagnosis I have noticed that it is we women who are most likely to retreat into lonely solitude. I haven't found a lot of support groups that cater to people like me, who work every day, who are not gay, who have never used injected drugs, but who was married to a man who led a secret bisexual life and gave me the disease. I would like to hear from anyone who wants to share.

Post Extras: Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
riverprincessModerator

Reged: 12/25/11
Loc: Jersey Shore
Re: An HIV+ SENIOR new
      #261976 - 03/24/12 01:19 PM

Lois, I'm soo glad you decided to stop by here. Your right about it being difficult to get women to share about what they are dealing with . And if they just go by what the men have to deal with then they are missing the mark so to speak. Women can't go by what men experience. We have much different symptoms, side effects, internal body issues. I don't know if it's isolation or what but there are very few sites for women. And those that I did find have had no activity for a very long time. I too have been pos for 20ish years now , on meds for going on 18 yrs. And it's taken me quite awhile to find out what we as women have to deal with . Why is it never spoken about? Embarrassment? Shame? I don't know , But ladies start to speak up and be heard !

floridamomma

Reged: 03/30/12
      #262148 - 03/30/12 10:08 AM