Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

HIV Life >> Women

Pages: 1
ShannonLeigh

Reged: 01/30/07
Support Groups??
      #223945 - 01/30/07 09:28 AM

Hi ladies! My name is Shannon and I am a Social Work intern for an HIV clinic. Right now we have a support group for men and I am interested in beginning a group for women. I'd love to hear your thoughts on this...for instance if you've attended a support group for women with HIV what you found helpful, activities you enjoyed, or what you wish your group could have done. I want to make sure the women at my clinic have the best experience possible with this group so any information you could offer would really help. Thank you!!

Post Extras: Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Jackie__Blue
Legend

Reged: 01/20/07
Re: Support Groups?? new
      #223949 - 01/30/07 10:03 AM

Hello Shannon.

I haven't attended a support group just for women, but I would imagine it could be closely modeled after what you all have going with the Men's group.

While many of the issues under discussion would be different, the basics for support remain the same. The biggest thing is to keep support meetings from turning into Bitch Fests, which they tend to do, no matter what the demographic of the groups.

Good Luck with this project.

antipete

Reged: 10/18/06
      #223971 - 01/31/07 07:25 AM

I have been in support groups but not for one sex only so I cant speak on that altho I can say that for those of you into the 12 step thing most AA-NA groups will have a womens only or a mens only besides having specifically G+L <gay and lesbian) type meetings if you need that type of help along with a regular support group is great.