Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

HIV Health and Treatment Issues >> Treatment & Side Effects

Pages: 1
Sean1975

Reged: 08/19/14
Severe Rashes!! Please Help!! new
      #277772 - 08/19/14 11:04 PM

Dear all,

I'm a newbie from Bangkok. I'm desperately seeking for your advice. I've just found out about my HIV 3 weeks ago and my CD4 count is 27 cells/mm3 and VL is 1,007,000 copies!! As a result, I also been diagnosed with moderate PCP and treatment started immediately. I have negative results for Syphilis, Hepatitis B & C, and TB.

Due to my HSR to PCP related drugs, which include Bactrim (discontinued after 4 days), and recently Clindamycin (1,200 mg/day + Primaquine 15 mg/day and Fluconazole 250mg/day). I've developed severe rashes after the 2 weeks of treatment that I ended up with Muculopapular and Morbiliform type rashes over 95% of my body, including face and hands.

During the PCP treatment, I tried all topical steroid and all kinds of antihistamines (Attarex, CETrilizine, CPM), none of which helped. 3 Days ago my doctor started my ART with Atipla. The condition becomes worse today! So I called doctor and she asked that I stop all my PCP medications since I'd been on it for over 2 weeks so far. But I wonder about the result of the PCP treatment after only 2 weeks.

I have not taken HLA-B*5701 test or per-ART resistance test.

I desperately want to take a low dose of 5 mg of Prednisolone per day to get rid of my rashes, but due to my low CD4 counts and extremely high VL, I am very concerned whether this will it reduce my already poor CD4 and make me become more vulnerable to OIs? By the pain and agony that I'm going through from the rashes is unbearable! I can't do anything by stay in very cold room and withstand the itchy pain.

What can I do? Please help!
Cheers!

Post Extras: Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
anotherday

Reged: 05/15/13
Loc: Alberta, Canada
Re: Severe Rashes!! Please Help!! new
      #277794 - 08/20/14 08:22 PM