Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

HIV Health and Treatment Issues >> Treatment & Side Effects

Pages: 1
BrokenWingedBird
Expert

Reged: 11/30/04
Loc: United Kingdom.
Terbinafine (Lamisil): does fungus recur?
      #176023 - 02/20/06 10:27 AM

Hi,

I posted this question to The Body's Experts two months ago but they haven't replied. Can anyone with experience of "HIV toenails" (onychomycosis) give me advice?

I have had badly infected toe-nails for four years now but to be frank they've been the least of my problems while battling with HIV. However, I'm in a good window right now - an HIV treatment that works and which isn't causing major side-effects. So, I'm thinking that maybe I could take Terbinafine now for the toe-nails. I have been painting my toenails now for eight months with tea-tree oil and vinegar and these seem to have helped all the nails except the big two - which are almost as bad as ever.

My concerns are: 1. added to my toxic HIV drugs, what will it do to my liver, etc, and 2. what's the likelihood of the fungus reasserting itself, if the turbinofine gets rid of it?

Thanks.

--------------------
Without a dream, life is a broken-winged bird that cannot fly. Keep hold of your dreams.

Post Extras: Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
still_here
Guardian

Reged: 02/01/06
Re: Terbinafine (Lamisil): does fungus recur? new
      #176051 - 02/20/06 01:09 PM