HIV Life >> I Just Tested Positive

Pages: 1
pozmedic
New User

Reged: 10/07/12
Loc: USA
just found out oct 3rd
      #267661 - 10/07/12 12:45 AM

hi, october 3rd 2012 i found out i was hiv positive. my first reaction was no that can't be right I'm in here every 6 months doing my part getting tested have been since i was 16 and i had just tested neg in feb. the results of the western blot has not came back yet. I'm a 26 y/o paramedic and i know hiv is not a death sentence anymore its treated more like a chronic illness, but I'm scared to death. i feel lost and out of control. there are moments where I'm laughing and others where i have trouble breathing. periods of denial are frequent. I'm sure I'm not the only one with these feelings but i can't help but feel alone. i have over whelming support from my parents and best friend. I'm kind of antisocial and a paw paw at my age. i don't have a lot of friends so my support system is limited. i had to call into work due to the news and being unable to focus. i didn't tell them the reason as to why and now I'm being pulled into my OM's office monday morning to "discuss my issues". i can't afford to lose my job and insurance now and i can't afford to tell them that I'm poz. for some odd reason though i have this intense urge to be adventurous and blaze my own trail in the world and make a difference. maybe I'm crazy. my mind is full of questions and thoughts of chasing my dream now. something i put in the back of my mind and left it to die. i hate to be irrational but I've never been more scared or inspired in my life.

Post Extras: Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
riverprincessModerator
Veteran

Reged: 12/25/11
Loc: Jersey Shore
Re: just found out oct 3rd new
      #267675 - 10/07/12 10:02 AM