Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

HIV Life >> I Just Tested Positive

Pages: 1
LovingLife

Reged: 07/09/12
I just tested positive. I am confused
      #264474 - 07/09/12 10:19 PM

Hi there,
I tested hiv + a few days ago. I have been hopeless and praying that there has been some kind of mistake since Thursday July 5th. I am an International student in the states. My getting tested just came up in a conversation I was having with a guy I just met and I told him It had been a while I went for a hiv test (close to 12months). He felt it was a good idea I got checked and promised to accompany me. We went in the next day and the preliminary results came out positive. They sent it back for more tests and I am supposed to get the final results on Friday July 13th.

I went into shock and told my friend immediately because we had just hand unprotected sex the night before. Luckily, he has been very supportive and I went with him for him to get tested too but he won’t his result for two weeks because he decided to do a full blood work test. I sent in a note to my office telling them I just found out I was very ill and needed sometime. We skipped town that night so I could clear my head. I just got back this evening and I'm expected to return to work tomorrow. I have no idea what to tell my bosses at work yet.

I am an African national and I am very aware of the stigma around hiv or worse for being a gay. Even though I know I have to wait for the full report on Friday, I do not know what to do, how to handle telling people or my excuse for not being at work for a couple of days. Its just so confusing to me. I sit and play different scenarios in my head of what lies ahead.

Can someone, anyone please give me some advice.

Post Extras: Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
notinterested
All Star

Reged: 09/07/11
Re: I just tested positive. I am confused new
      #264478 - 07/10/12 12:49 AM