Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

HIV Life >> I Just Tested Positive

Pages: 1
asianboy

Reged: 02/11/11
Loc: Manila, Philippines
RE: Full blown AIDS
      #254356 - 02/12/11 12:24 AM

I'm a 31-year old professional in the Philippines recently diagnosed with AIDS... it has taken a toll on my family and my career, as I have to take a leave from work while I try to improve my CD4 count. Been staying at home with my parents (and financially dependent on them since my work wont pay me while Im on leave), and I can feel how much stressed my mom is over my disease. 'Though she's been very supportive of me since I found out of my disease last December, but there would be times when we would have family quarrels brought upon by financial constraints and repressed issues she has against me (or is it my homosexuality?).

I'm stressed out and I'm getting depressed. SOS.

I know most people here are just positive, and it will probably make me feel better (I guess) to hear from someone on the same stage as I am (ie AIDS)... I am becoming hopeless here.

Edited by asianboy (02/12/11 12:30 AM)

Post Extras: Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Pos_in_Thailand
Guardian

Reged: 02/01/11
Loc: Thailand
Re: RE: Full blown AIDS new
      #254364 - 02/12/11 12:24 PM

Can you please tell us about your history?
You said you were diagnosed last December - is that December 2010?
Were you diagnosed with HIV or actual AIDS? Both?
What are your numbers, please? VL=? CD4=?
Were you on treatment before the AIDS diagnosis? Did your Doc switch treatments?
Have you had your virus genotyped and tested for resistances? Please give details if so.

Any info you can give us can help us help you see options and possibilities that you can take with you and to your doctor.

I was just diagnosed on Jan.22. My VL= 61,000; CD4=403