Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

HIV Life >> I Just Tested Positive

Pages: 1
optimistic2009

Reged: 07/28/09
I feel dead and have lost the will to live
      #246877 - 08/04/09 04:51 AM

Hi All,

I am sorry for posting such a depressing note here but I feel like I have lost the will to live and have no reason to pursue my career----I am only 33 and I feel like what is the point of any hardwork now!

even if there is a cure, which everyone keeps saying there is'nt going to be one, it would be in the next 5-10 years. Do I wait thatl long

HELP ME GET THROUGH THIS PLS

Post Extras: Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
ruralguy
Regular

Reged: 07/08/09
Re: I feel dead and have lost the will to live new
      #246879 - 08/04/09 10:27 AM

How long have you been pos? I'm pretty new at this but it seems like managing the disease itself is not so awfully hard. Managing the mental health side of it is definitely harder, not letting HIV become your identity, for example. Ever have any mental health counseling? It seems easy to get stuck in a mental state where one is just overwhelmed by HIV but I also don't think you have to stay in that spot. One needs to find something else that is hugely interesting to you. I'm not expert but that is how I'm feeling about it.

optimistic2009

#246882 - 08/04/09 12:16 PM

thanks rural. Its been about 4 weeks now; keep thinking how I have met myself down and got into this mess! I m seeking counselling and have already had 2 sessions as been crying non-stop!

ruralguy
Regular

#246897 - 08/05/09 07:25 AM