Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Family and Friends >> My Loved One Has HIV/AIDS

Pages: 1
clairedh

Reged: 10/11/07
We are using a sperm donor to have a baby
      #232243 - 10/11/07 01:20 AM

My husband is positive and I am negative. We have been married for 6 years. We have finally decided to use a sperm donor to have a baby. Is there anyone else out there in a similar situation? I am not sure how to explain to our family members about using a sperm donor, and how to explain to our future child....I need to hear your experiences!

Post Extras: Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
oldwoman
Guardian

Reged: 05/12/07
Loc: Phila,Pa
Re: We are using a sperm donor to have a baby new
      #232249 - 10/11/07 08:56 AM

I have no experience in this but was wondering,why do you have to tell your family members about this?
Best wishes,a baby is truly a blessing.

vokz
Grand Master

Reged: 09/06/07
Loc: London, UK
      #232259 - 10/11/07 12:15 PM

Claire,

Not knowing what country you are in, I really don’t know what options are open to you (or financially viable) .. but have you explored other options that would allow you to have a baby which shares your husband’s genes?

HIV i-Base has an excellent guide on HIV, pregnancy & women's health and it may be worth having a look at.

Here in the UK, thousands of negative women are routinely and very safely giving birth to children that are genetically those of their positive husbands .. and the guide explains how.

I am only asking because it may provide you with options that could alleviate some of the problems of what must be a very stressful situation for you.

Mark

http://i-base.info/guides/index.html

clairedh

Reged: 10/11/07
      #232266 - 10/11/07 02:46 PM