Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
  Breaking News: FDA Approves Triumeq, New Once-Daily Combination Pill

HIV Life >> Living With HIV

Pages: 1
Anonymous
Unregistered

Hairy Leukoplakia
      #91684 - 03/09/04 10:30 PM

I developed hairy leukoplakia on one side of my tongue around chritmas time. It is still there. I was wondering if anyone could tell me how long after you get this you have to go on meds. My t-cells were 450 in October. Vl undetectable w/o meds. Maybe the pcr isnt the right one. I have read that a person with ohl at these cd4 levels usualy has a high vl.

Any input out there?

Post Extras: Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Anonymous
Unregistered

Re: Hairy Leukoplakia new
      #91717 - 03/10/04 08:42 AM

I am no expert, but this is common with HIV. I have had it for over 20 years and no significant HIV health related problems. Ask your Dr.

Anonymous
Unregistered

#91747 - 03/10/04 05:34 PM

Wow! It is great to hear that. Are you on meds though. The doc says that it could mean that I have to start soon.

Anonymous
Unregistered

#91755 - 03/10/04 08:09 PM

The OHL was first noticed by my dentist in 1986. Didn't start meds until 2000. If you are concerned about starting meds, you need to undergo t-cell and viral load testing. The opinions on starting meds vary, but there are several good articles on this site. Plus, find a good HIV Dr. Good luck.

Anonymous
Unregistered

#91866 - 03/11/04 07:52 PM

I am so supprised. My doctor and dentist noticed nothing until I asked them.

Thankyou for telling me your real life story. It is hard when you have to fill in the blanks by yourself.

My cd4 ir 450 with no apparent vl. I think that the tests that they use cant pick it up.

Anonymous
Unregistered

#91875 - 03/11/04 09:18 PM