Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

HIV Life >> Living With HIV

Pages: 1
Fuentes
Unregistered

detecting swollen lymph nodes
      #2917 - 04/05/00 03:46 PM

How does it feel to have swollen lymph nodes? Are your lymph nodes always enlarged? Are they always tender to palpation? Do they change throughout the course of your infection? (i.e. initial infection, with changes in viral load/CD4 count, etc.)

This may be a really general question, but I'm interested in HIV+ people's insight on this matter. I'm interested in this because I have frequently seen lymphadenopathy listed among the symptoms of HIV (among a great many other diseases) but I'm confused about how to actually detect the presence of swollen lymph nodes as opposed to having normal nodes. No, I'm not a doctor, just curious. :-)

Post Extras: Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Jerry
Unregistered

Re: detecting swollen lymph nodes new
      #2920 - 04/05/00 03:46 PM

In my case, I noticed my lymph nodes were "enlarged" about 10 years ago. At that time, they just felt enlarged;(at that time I also new that I was HIV pos) about 4 to 6 times larger than normal. No my lymph nodes were not painful on the average. But they did seem to get episodes of twinges when one in my groin area would give a dull ache occaisionally.

Now that I have been on HAART for the past year the size of my lymph nodes have gone down signifigantly. For example the ones on my neck have completely gone back to normal and the in the groin area are decreased in size by 1/2 to 2/3.