Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

HIV Life >> Living With HIV

Pages: 1
collegestudent

Reged: 05/07/12
What did you tell yourself to overcome depression?
      #262954 - 05/08/12 10:30 AM

I'm currently a college student and I'm working on a class project which involves gathering anecdotes from HIV/AIDS patients. I'm not HIV positive but I'm going through a depression in the moment and I'm looking for personal stories on how you were able to overcome your depression. What kinds of things did you tell yourself that gave you the energy or will to get back on your feet?

I also encourage you to take a look at my other post titled "Looking for personal stories for HIV class THANKS!" where you can answer some of my other questions concerning experiences with living with HIV/AIDS.

Thank you all for looking at my two posts and, even though this question is a bit more personal for me, my classmates and I will be really grateful for any kind of input!

Post Extras: Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
alive2
Guardian

Reged: 03/08/07
Re: What did you tell yourself to overcome depression? new
      #262957 - 05/08/12 01:04 PM

you have already done the first step by recognizing it and acknowledging it. same as anyone else once you do these 2 things i feel the best thing after that is to find a responcible person or a doctor and talk through what it is thats at the heart of your depression. of corse some have to take medication to get a handle on things. maybe convince yourself that your important to others and thats what helped me to drag myself up out of the rut i was in. hope that helps you.

collegestudent

Reged: 05/07/12
      #262963 - 05/08/12 03:36 PM