Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

HIV Life >> Living With HIV

Pages: 1
angew

Reged: 01/13/11
Starting a new support group. Need help with ideas
      #253894 - 01/13/11 02:53 PM

I am a social work intern at a HIV outpatient clinic. I am looking to start a support group for new patients at the clinic or for patients that have been newly diagnosed. Obviously i have no idea of what I am doing so I was just wondering what kind of activities or topics that people have been to that they have found helpful so i can incorporate it in my group.

Post Extras: Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
iam1
Fanatic

Reged: 06/17/09
Loc: Georgia
Re: Starting a new support group. Need help with ideas new
      #253954 - 01/19/11 04:36 PM

I speak from experience. I've been chairing/co-chairing an HIV support group for the past 5 years.

No matter what topic you choose someone is not going to like it. This is a feeling you're going to have to deal with when dealing with the newly HIV infected.

They've recently been told they have a deadly (WRONG!), incurable disease. Most if not all of them are probably going to be going through the hate-someone-for-it stage of the disease. They hate the person that gave them the disease. They hate themself for not being more careful and preventing the disease. They hate the government for not doing more to prevent the disease. The list can be nearly endless.

I don't know what kind of time you have to work with here, so I'm going to give you a couple of topics that can be run from one meeting to the next.

1) Who are they angry with? (Many won't admit to being angry, but they need to in order to move past that stage.)