Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

HIV Life >> Living With HIV

Pages: 1
caliztony

Reged: 03/15/10
condon broke... what are the risk?
      #249873 - 03/24/10 07:15 PM

I am HIV+ , my boyfriend is HIV(-) We use protection all the time, couple of weeks ago the condon broke while I was being the top and we did not realized until it was to late (we already finish the climax)
I have been undetectable with CD4 on the 600 for at least 2 years. what is the risk that I had infected him? How long should we wait for him to get tested and be sure? Can I infect someone if I am undetectable and healthy?

Thanks for advice.

Post Extras: Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
lovinglife101

Reged: 11/24/09
Re: condon broke... what are the risk? new
      #249904 - 03/28/10 08:20 PM

I am not a doctor; I can only talk from my experience. I have been positive since 1985. I have dated a handful of men over the years, all of them negative when I met them and thank god, all of them are still negative. The risk of transmitting HIV from a female to a male is quite low but there is ALWAYS a risk. There are too many variable in place to ever know the true risk. I have been with my fiancé now for 5 1/2 years, and sometimes we don't play safe. I DO NOT advocate not playing safe. Using protection is the best way to decrease the risk. My fiancé was just tested in November and he is negative. My advice on being tested would be to do so now then again in six months, and then six months from then. It can take six months after infection before the anti-bodies will show up on a test. I wish you both the best!

Johhnn

Reged: 02/23/10
      #249945 - 04/02/10 06:15 PM

Hi.

The fact you have undetectable VL is a factor which makes risk of hiv-transmission much and much lower :-) However,... it is not the only factor in the play...