Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

HIV Life >> Living With HIV

Pages: 1
Preston110409

Reged: 11/11/09
From Social Butterfly to Party Pooper
      #248392 - 11/12/09 03:46 PM

I am into the second week of knowing my diagnosis. It has been tough. My best friend knows as do the guy that I am dating. My ex suspects it probably since I have attempted to reach out to him. Lately I have had a lot of anxiety about changing how I interact with people. I am a pretty social guy and I just haven't had the desire to be around my other friends. They are beginning to notice I think because I am pretty a happy-go-lucky person who is always down for a social moment. I am sad and I am not good at hiding my feelings. I hate lying to my friends which is making me feel guilty. I know I need time to process and get my arms around this thing. It is just so tough trying to put on a different face when I feel so devastated inside.....

Can anyone relate? Please share.....

Post Extras: Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
ScotCharles
Legend

Reged: 05/06/05
Loc: Los Angeles
Re: From Social Butterfly to Party Pooper new
      #248402 - 11/13/09 10:43 AM

Dear Preston,

What you are feeling is part of the process of adjusting to your new life as an HIV+ person. Since you are sad, I assume you have moved beyond denial of your diagnosis. In the future you may feel angry, or try to bargain with the virus and god by adopting a new llifestyle. In the end, if you are lucky, you will be at peace with being HIV+. Sadly, most people get stuck in the angry phase ruining the chance that they can attain happiness and peace in their lives.