Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

HIV Life >> Living With HIV

Pages: 1
Lovinlife
Fanatic

Reged: 08/29/08
Believing in an astounding existence
      #241766 - 09/02/08 04:51 PM

I am a newbie to this post...but pos for 10 years and have stopped by this site quite a bit over the years.
I am shocked at the number of negative and extremely depressing posts here so I thought I'd drop a line to offer thoughts on some of the posts I've seen.
1. I think you can both educate the public while still saying that HIV isn't a death sentence. We don't need to scare people into education. That's a bit Hitler-esque, no? Let's terrify people into believing/understanding that HIV is serious...that HIV is damn hard, and scary, and sucks at times? We can educate without terrifying. I don't need to see a sign of a mangled baby to learn that abortion isn't always the answer. I don't need to overdose on drugs to learn that drugs can harm my body. I have learned through being educated without scare tactics. I believe we can give people with HIV/AIDS hope by honestly saying it's not a death sentence while also educating the public to prevent more new HIV/AIDS cases.

2. I know that I have put lots of years and effort and time into getting to the gym every day, walking a deep spiritual path, getting acupuncture, taking vitamins, juicing, meditating, dancing, doing whatever it takes to keep my immune system in tact. And...it has paid off. Since diagnosis I have not put alcohol in my body or trashed my body with junk food. I have fought for medical care and waded through paperwork to join studies to get my meds paid for.

There have been bumps along the way, but I have an incredible life and having HIV doesn't prevent me from leading an astounding existence....but only because I demand nothing less.

And everybody who has HIV/AIDS can do the same.