Breaking News: FDA Approves Triumeq, New Once-Daily Combination Pill

HIV Life >> Living With HIV

Pages: 1
LondonLad

Reged: 06/01/08
Loc: London, UK
Living well with HIV
      #239635 - 06/01/08 09:50 PM

I am new to these messageboards and happened to venture on here as I am due to start my meds in the next week or so. Its something that is worrying me a little but I know friends who have been at this milestone before and look back and wonder what all the fuss was about.

I am reading lots of stories here that are unfortunately depressing and negative and I know that this is not a true reflection of living with HIV for some people. Okay I am not saying it always easy but I am confident that there are people out there who live with the virus day to day and for a lot of the time it is not an issue. I say this because I am fortunate to have friends that are positive and it is not really a big issue for them. They live their lives and HIV is just a small fraction of the the person that they are.

I personally have had one or two tough periods over the past 2 years since finding out but these were more mentally than physical and health anxiety was something I had well before HIV came along and now common sense dominates my thoughts. I have had oral thrush and a few other minor problems and it does get you down but you take advice from the experts, you get medication and you move on.