Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

HIV Life >> Living With HIV

Pages: 1
pozcop
New User

Reged: 04/16/08
Does the severe depression stop?
      #238536 - 04/16/08 02:00 PM

Well, its been just over two years since I was diagnosed, but probably five or so since I became infected with HIV. I live in the very closeted Colorado Springs area where people don't disclose their status often, which led to my getting infected. Now, I have never been a really happy person growing up since I figured out I was gay at the age of 8. 29 Years later, my depression has grown into a sick, daily routine, which I find difficult to shake. Maybe I have not accepted being positive or maybe I don't have the willpower to deal with it anymore, but I have never contemplated suicide in my life as much as I have in the last two years. And its getting worse. My boyfriend and two friends are the only ones who know except my boyfriend's family. I have been a cop for over a decade and the sigma associated with being gay was bad enough, but HIV is not even discussed. I find myself struggling to even make it through the day given I have the means to end it all on my hip everyday I work. Every once in a while I go so far as to chew on the barrel of my gun but can't pull the trigger. How do others cope with this? Any other cops have the same problems?

Post Extras: Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Florida69
Veteran

Reged: 02/19/07
Re: Does the severe depression stop? new
      #238537 - 04/16/08 03:31 PM