Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

HIV Life >> Living With HIV

Pages: 1
idontjudge

Reged: 02/07/08
any support for hetero guys?
      #236551 - 02/13/08 07:16 AM

hi, I'm new at the body and was browsing through when I noticed that the focus seemed to be on gay guys and women. Don't get me wrong, I have found wonderful support from these groups but I wonder if there are any straight guys with this? p.s. I'm 39 and single again so watch out ladies!!! Just kidding about the watch out part.

Post Extras: Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Leonardo
Guru

Reged: 08/07/07
Loc: New Jersey
Re: any support for hetero guys? new
      #236579 - 02/13/08 07:37 PM

Hey,

I know you weren't looking to hear from one of "the gays" but I have to ask you what you meant by the focus being on "gays and women".

I don't see much content here that relates exclusively to either group. There are lots of posts offering general support and advice for HIV+ people. There are discussions of medications, side effects, and doctor choices. There are posts about discrimination, insurance claims, retirement options. There are discussions about disclosure, depression, etc. You get the poiint.

So, what's exclusive to gays and women? I am not really sure who is gay or straight here. And sometimes, I am not even sure if I'm typing to a man or a woman.

So I'm puzzled. My only guess if that you are looking for a date. In that case, you may want to consider someplace like Pozmatch.com. I could be worng, but I have not noticed a lot of "hooking up" going on here.

I'm I am wrong, and you are here looking for support and advice, please know that I'd be happy to talk to you. And I promise that I won't try to hook up with you along the way. : )

So, anyway, what's the deal?

Leo

nycman

Reged: 08/16/07
Loc: MANHATTAN, NY
      #236580 - 02/13/08 08:39 PM

hey man i know how you feel. Dont give up!

whocanfigure
Guru

Reged: 09/01/07