Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

HIV Life >> Living With HIV

Pages: 1
Anonymous
Unregistered

HIV vaccine in the making
      #188254 - 04/27/06 12:56 PM

Read this article below and someone explain a couple of things to me..i am a health care professional, and part of my job is HIV/AIDS education. during my trainin on HIV i was told and (i teach this as well to my students) that people can't get HIV from animals. and animals dont get HIV..they may get other diseases that is similar to HIV but not HIV itself. and according to this study, they tested this vaccine in monkey and it was effective..??!! of course it would be effective, because monkeys dont get HIV. i mean, am i wrong? i must be missing something because it does not make any sense to me....???

http://msnbc.msn.com/id/12456940/

Post Extras: Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
ny10001
Grand Master

Reged: 07/08/05
Loc: New York
Re: HIV vaccine in the making new
      #188258 - 04/27/06 01:06 PM

There are enough similarities between the primate immune system and the human immune system that it is logical to see if a vaccine can trigger a member of the primate family's immune system to begin producing antibodies to HIV. Remember...a vaccine is a way of tricking the body into thinking that it's been exposed to something so that anti-bodies are the result.