Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

HIV Life >> Living With HIV

Pages: 1
5nurse2be
Unregistered

Help me to be a better nurse
      #141052 - 04/29/05 08:39 AM

. Hi. My name is CC and I am a nursing student due to graduate in August. As part of this semester I am to give a presentation on HIV. I would like to
focus on "how to be a better nurse to the HIV patient.". Is there anything you would like to tell a graduating group of nurses? Any of your thoughts or advice is greatly appreciated! My project is due 05/02/05 so an immediate response would be much obliged!
Please email me at skibabet@yahoo.com

Post Extras: Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Anonymous
Unregistered

Re: Help me to be a better nurse new
      #141106 - 04/29/05 05:12 PM

Here are my suggestions. Treat your HIV patients like you would any other patient...like they are human. Don't be afraid to touch a patient with HIV. Do not treat them like they are "going to die anyway" so there is no use in doing anything for them. HIV is now a chronic disease. Many patients with HIV/AIDS outlive patient who have diabetes or cancer.

Anonymous
Unregistered

#141174 - 04/29/05 10:09 PM

Well said!

Anonymous
Unregistered

#141381 - 05/01/05 06:35 AM