Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

HIV Transmission and Education >> Am I Infected?

Pages: 1
Anonymous
Unregistered

raped
      #89062 - 02/17/04 05:53 PM

I am a female who was recently raped by a guy. A few days later I found out he could possibly have HIV. Assuming he does, what are the chances of me becoming infected, is there any chance I am not infected? He didn't use a condom but pulled out. How long should I wait to first be tested? After that test when should I be tested again? I am so scared, please help!

Post Extras: Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
sweetpea9919
Master

Reged: 10/22/03
Loc: Las Vegas, NV
Re: raped new
      #89107 - 02/17/04 06:37 PM

You went through a horrible experience, and my heart goes out to you. Let me try to answer your questions as best as I can, but remember, I'm not a doctor, and I recommend you see one.

> Even if the rapist has HIV, that does not mean you automatically get it. The fact that he did not ejaculate inside you lowers your risk even more.

> The CDC lowered the window of testing to three months, or 12-13 weeks. Most people sero-convert much sooner (6 weeks or so). But I would stick to their guidelines and wait until the 13 week mark.

There are a lot of other dieseases you should worry about, as well. Those can be picked up much more quickly, even if you don't have symptoms. (Most women don't experience symptoms for other STD's.) Herpes, chlamydia, gonorrhea, syphillis, HPV (genital warts), etc. And they are easy to catch than HIV, too. If you haven't done so already, I urge you to see a doctor, tell him/her hat happened, and have them run the standard "rape" tests.

How is your mental health doing? Have you spoken with a counselor? Are you pressing charges? Do you know the guy?

Take care of your body, mind, and soul.

--------------------
Erika
Married; 31 years old