Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

HIV Transmission and Education >> Am I Infected?

Pages: 1
JustAGirl
Unregistered

Contact with blood and scared!
      #85406 - 02/04/04 10:12 AM

Hi everyone,

Something happened to me at work the other night that really scared me and I was hoping someone could help. I work in retail, and a guy (maybe 60 years old) and his wife came in the store to make a purchase. I rang them up, but I noticed one of the guy's fingers was bleeding (very weird!) and about 20 minutes after they left I saw a couple mostly-dried bloodspots on the counter, about the size of fingerprints. I got a Clorox disinfectant wipe to clean it up but I didn't put any gloves on, which in hindsight is what's making me really worried. I was careful not to touch the blood, but one of my fingers slipped in the disinfectant on the counter while I was cleaning up, and I panicked that it might have slid right into the blood. I inspected my finger, even tried wiping it off to see if any blood was present, and it didn't appear that I'd gotten any blood on myself. Also, I did not have any cuts, abrasions, hangnails, etc. on my hand or fingers. So I finished cleaning up the blood, then wiped my hands with antibacterial gel and also washed with soap and water. But now I am *really* worried that there was some microscopic amount of blood on my finger and that I got infected (even though I don't even know if this guy had HIV!).

Hopefully I am worrying for no reason, but now I am agonizing that I have to wait three months to test. Is it even necessary for me to be concerned about this, or is it just so unlikely that I may as well forget it? This has been making me miserable--I am so angry at myself for not protecting my hands! Oh well, lesson learned the hard way, I suppose...

Post Extras: Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Anonymous