Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

HIV Transmission and Education >> Am I Infected?

Pages: 1
Anonymous
Unregistered

Transmission via kissing and condoms
      #34428 - 05/16/02 11:30 PM

I recently met a wonderful and terric person whom I'd to get to know better. The only problem is this person is HIV+. We have gone out on a few dates and finaly kissed. I really like this person but I also want to take each and every precaution.

I'm a college student and just finished taking all of mine finals. During my late nights of studying and stressing over my exams I became a much heavier smoker than i ever was and the stress caused me to have an oral ulcer so my mouth isn't exactly 100%. With all this being said is kissing still considered safe? Is there any other form of protection available other than condoms?

thank you in advance for responding.

Post Extras: Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Anonymous
Unregistered

Re: Transmission via kissing and condoms new
      #34429 - 05/17/02 12:06 AM

Kissing is still considered safe. The only time there may be a risk is if there is infected blood present, especially with a cut, bleeding gums or, in your case, oral ulcers. Please do yourself a favor and educate yourself before taking this relationship further. Don't do something first, then try to find out if it was safe, ya know what I mean? Which is kind of what you already did, luckily it was only kissing and not something that actually carries a risk.

Do what you think is smart.

Anonymous
Unregistered

#34432 - 05/17/02 01:37 AM