Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

HIV Transmission and Education >> Am I Infected?

Pages: 1
Jackson8811

Reged: 06/03/14
HIV, why isnt this talked about? new
      #276527 - 06/06/14 12:32 AM

Okay, so ive done a fair share of research this past month as i have been going through what i believe is my seroconversion illness ( ARS ) .. Im not a doctor, and i cant self diagnose but i have a few points id like to bring up and wonder if anyone has any information on them. I believe if infact i was infected, it was with a very small amount of the virus. Im wondering if because i was infected with a small amount of the virus, I.E. through a tiny abrasion or from getting fluids on the head of my penis after condom use.. Experts would call this low risk, but could low risk mean longer window periods? I wonder....

1. Would this be what makes people seroconvert slower than others? because they were infected with less in quantity of the virus? Which would result in less antibodies originally needed and not enough to be detected?

2. I also wonder, according to multiple sources during the first month of infection people have sky loaded viral loads.. would this not make the RNA-pooled naat test conslusive at 3, 4, and 6 weeks as it claims to have close to 100% sensitivity ?? Why would someone not have detectable viral loads during this period? This confuses me.

Post Extras: Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
kicker

Reged: 10/25/10
Loc: GA, USA
Re: HIV, why isnt this talked about? new
      #276528 - 06/06/14 01:14 AM

I'm typing this on my phone so it will be brief, or briefer than normal.

1. The only things that makes people not produce antibodies to HIV upon exposure are A) they are on immune surpressing drugs B) are receiving cancer therapies that have already destroyed their immune system C) were not infected to begin with.