Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

HIV Transmission and Education >> Am I Infected?

Pages: 1
WorriedInMD

Reged: 06/15/13
Worst thing I heard recently...Surprise, I'm Undetectable!
      #272549 - 06/15/13 03:35 PM

So obviously when I was told by a guy that he was undetectable it was not cheerful like my topic. I am in a near panic right now because of this news. I would really like to hear from experts on how worried I should be about this scenario. I really appreciate everyone's input on this and thank you all, in advance.
So.....
Three and a half weeks ago, I went on a date with a guy I had been talking to for several months. Over the course of our talks I asked him several times if he was clean and was told yes. Well, the evening went well and we had oral sex. We both ended up swallowing and that was that. We continued to talk and talked about taking things further when Thursday he said he had something to talk about. I got that "oh s***" feeling and he told me that he was "undetectable" and I had nothing to worry about, I would be perfectly fine.

So after being super pissed at him for telling me after our first encounter, and being mad at myself for being naive enough to take him at his word, I immediately got tested. I got both the standard antibody test and the PCR test since I believe that is the only one right now that can tell me if I contracted HIV from him this early on.