Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

HIV Transmission and Education >> Am I Infected?

Pages: 1
SBGuard

Reged: 11/06/10
Blood transmission...scared
      #252956 - 11/06/10 11:25 AM

I'm a 22 year old female and I work as a security guard. A little over two weeks ago, I responded to a fight out in a parking. Two males were fighting (they were hitting each other in the ribs, face, and abdomen-which resulted in a lot of blood-and between the two of them managed a concussion, a broken nose, broken ribs, a broken ankle, a broken cheekbone, and a ton of cuts) and myself and another guard pulled two the them apart. The man that I grabbed resisted me when I was handcuffing him. When he was resisting me, I somehow got several cuts on one of my arms (several that were an inch to two inches long and one that was approximately three and a half to four inches long).

I wasn't aware at the scene that I had been cut. My adrenaline was pumping too hard and all I could see was the blood from either the one, or the two guys, that we had pulled apart, on my arm. I had gotten a fair amount on me because the guy I had grabbed was literally dripping blood (both his and the other guy's). By the time that I was able to clean the blood off, it had completely dried (approximately 25 minutes later). I washed the cuts with soap and water and then scrubbed them with alcohol.

I normally would have stayed in our office until the police processed the two men, but we had several other reported fights, so I got asked to go to those because the other officer who had broken up the fight had been injured worse than I had.