Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

HIV Transmission and Education >> Am I Infected?

Pages: 1
Shane
Unregistered

To Zoom42 RNA vs DNA
      #25290 - 12/06/01 12:08 PM

Hi Zoom,

Before I begin, please understand I'm not a doctor or scientist. I'm someone who unfortunately has an
OCD issue with an exposure I had. The good thing about it is, I've spent a lot of time researching
every aspect of testing, from phone calls to lab technicians to surfing the net. With that said, only you
and a trained professional can make a decision as to the validity of what my opinion is and how it
applies to you...

When the virus enters your body it's in RNA form...but it needs to reproduce. To do this is infects
small white blood cells called lymphocytes and helper killer T cells. Once inside the cell, it does a lot
of things which I won't waste your time trying to explain, but the short of it is, it leaves a copy of its
DNA. Now we have a copy of the RNA in DNA form...the infected cell (DNA) now starts
producing thousands of RNA virus....thus those RNA viruses go out and infect more healthy WBC
and leave a copy of their DNA, hence the life cycle.

What an RNA PCR test looks for is the circulating virus in the plasma...free floating virus. When
you're infected during all stages you have thousands of these RNA particles floating around. An RNA
PCR test looks for these particles and tells us how many (in general) there are. If someone is on
antivirals, it is possible that their viral load will be undetectable...but it depends on the test. Some tests
test down to 50 particles per sample others 400. This test is used as a diagnostic tool if recent
infection is suspected, because early in the infection life-cycle 1-4 weeks, your body has no natural
antibodies and the virus runs rampant...this is what causes ARS. Once your body produces