Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

HIV Transmission and Education >> Am I Infected?

Pages: 1
Anonymous
Unregistered

hiv antigen
      #25235 - 12/04/01 11:25 PM

what is the chane of me taking 3 hiv antibody tests many yrs after exposure all neg the today i went for a hiv 2 and antigen test that these test would come back positive i have been hjaving some syptoms hiv related for 4 yrs but i tested neg on elisa 6,7,8 yrs after exposure my exposures was 91,92,93 so if these tests today come back neg am i almost 100 percent im ok an anigen test cant miss hiv this long after exposure can it

Post Extras: Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Anonymous
Unregistered

Re: hiv antigen new
      #25237 - 12/05/01 12:23 AM

i also tested years after the risk, 8 years. i worried that the antibodies would be gone, or something. but i was assured that if i lost my antibodies, i would be close to dead. i am not dead. but, here i am, still wondering. the antigen test is only good for initial infection, before antibody test is accurate , prior to 3 months. after 3 months, i heard it is pretty worthless.

Shane
Unregistered

#25238 - 12/05/01 01:22 AM