Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

HIV Transmission and Education >> Am I Infected?

Pages: 1
redgirl

Reged: 11/07/06
REDGIRL got tested after a full year of worry
      #230912 - 09/14/07 04:00 PM

Hello everyone

I dont know if anyone remembers me from last year...i had quite a lot of replies to my original post (thousands hehe!). Well anyway, to cut a long story short, i was CONVINCED i had HIV, but would not get tested out of fear. I first thought that i had HIV in august 2006 because of numerous "symptoms"....swollen lymph nodes, night sweats etc, and i knew i wasnt imagining these things, as i am a 5th year student doctor, and i know what a lymph node feels like and where to find them!!

Well anyway, i went on for A YEAR without being tested, i really was that scared, until this year in august i finally decided enough is enough..and i went for the test. The doctor told me my result would be ready in a week.....but when the week was up i couldnt face getting the result. I went on for weeks and weeks thinking about my result but not actually going to find out what it was. But one day i felt really ill and ended up with a urine infection which was so bad that i was in agony and i HAD to go to the doctor for some medicne. I dreaded it soooooooooo much. But when i went in to see him he didnt even mention the HIV test....and as he was looking through my file, i saw a sheet of paper saying HIV antibody: negative.

NEGATIVE!!! N-E-G-A-T-I-V-E!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! OH MY GOODNESS ME!!!! HONESTLY THAT WAS THE BEST MOMENT OF MY LIFE.....LIKE I HAD MY LIFE BACK...AS I HAD BEEN LIVING IN FEAR FOR A YEAR...