Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

HIV Transmission and Education >> Am I Infected?

Pages: 1
PLEASE HELP ME!
Unregistered

I Didn't know? Was very ignorant! SCARED!!!! PLS
      #140140 - 04/15/05 04:33 AM

I am new to the gay scene. My boyfriend and I have been dating for nearly 11 weeks and we both tested negative on our HIV test. After we got our test result we started to bareback. But I found out that you really need to wait a period of 3 to 6 months in order to be accurate with the test results.

Have I put myself at risk for HIV? We have been very faithful to one another. I am scared, because my ignorance put me in harm way. Is 11 weeks a good sign that both of us is HIV negative..........

Post Extras: Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
MikeyUk
Unregistered

Re: I Didn't know? Was very ignorant! SCARED!!!! PLS new
      #140147 - 04/15/05 10:11 AM

I'd be very confident that your fine - I live in the UK but generally newer testing can detect antibodies no problems within the time frame you went. There are several tests your doc will do: 1 is an ELISA Antibody test which would pick up 95% of positive poeple within about a month ELISA Duo AG/AB tests would look for both the antigen (the start of the virus which shows after a couple of weeks) and then the antibody (that apears when the antigens no longer) regardless i'm no expert but feel you should be very very confident good luck !

Anonymous
Unregistered

Re: I Didn't know? Was very ignorant! SCARED!!!! PLS new
      #140174 - 04/15/05 06:50 PM